Fitness Career Spotlight: Marjorie J. Albohm, MS, ATC President, National Athletic Trainers Asso.

From collegiate athlete to President of the National Athletic Trainers Association, Marjorie Albohm knows her field. Take a look at how this amazing woman helped pave the way for health care with female athletes.

Sarah Koszyk: What attracted you to the field of fitness and exercise?
Marjorie J. Albohm, MS, ATC President, National Athletic Trainers Association: As a collegiate athlete I experienced some routine injuries and no one was available to provide health care for the female athletes. There was an athletic trainer for the men’s teams but none for the women’s teams. I saw this as an unmet need and decided to pursue athletic training education to become a certified athletic trainer to fill this need.

Your Job Title:
President, National Athletic Trainers Association. That is a volunteer position. My full time job title is Director of Clinical Research and Fellowships for Ossur Americas.
http://www.nata.org

Company you are with now:
Ossur Americas

Describe a typical (or not so typical) day-in-the-work-life for you.
I travel to two or three different cities a week either speaking and representing the NATA or determining research sites and projects for prosthetic and bracing and support research for Ossur Americas.

How did you get your current job in fitness and exercise?
I believe each life and job experience builds to the next. My extensive experience in sports medicine and fitness enabled me to obtain my current positions. I have been involved in athletic training and the NATA for over 35 years and that experience enabled me to successfully be elected President.

What skills were you born with and what skills have you learned along the way?
I believe skills are learned and developed. I believe my strengths are organizational skills and having the ability to develop a big picture view of things and vision. Leadership is extremely important in my opinion and I have studied various authors and experts on this topic. One of the skills I value the most is being a lifetime learner. I learn something new every day and that excites me!

What advice do you have for others wanting to be just as successful and fulfilled as you?
Have passion for what you’re doing. Be a listener – learning from others is so important. Be organized and have a strong work ethic. Go out and find out what excites you and truly follow that dream.

If you could be paid for your job with something other than a paycheck, what would it be?
I receive so much more than a paycheck in my current positions. Respect and honored and valued as a person and a professional.

About Sarah Koszyk, MA, RD

Registered Dietitian Foodie helping families eat delicious, home-cooked, easy-to-make meals together. I've got recipes, kids cooking videos, health tips, and more. Come join my fiesta.
This entry was posted in Coaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment